Category Location

The City Of Shawnee Sits In The Larger Shawnee Mission Area Outside Kansas City

Shawnee is a part of Kansas that is sometimes talked about like it is a city, even though it technically is not. It’s more formally known as Shawnee Mission, and it’s a name that the United States Postal Service created to designate an area within Johnson County that has a number of towns. They all share postal or zip codes that fall into a 662xx sequence. This area includes parts of the northern section of Overland Park. Southern sections of Overland Park are not included since unincorporated Stanley annexed them into zip code 66084.

At the time of writing, a number of towns were entirely in the Shawnee Mission area. They included Fairway, Leawood, Lenexa, Merriam, Mission, Mission Hills, Mission Woods, Prairie Village, Roeland Park, Shawnee, Westwood, and Westwood Hills...

Read More